ISML 2012: Preliminary 1: Day 1 Fantasy/Prediction

We have waited a month, and the time to start voting in ISML’s preliminary round starts tomorrow. I am looking forward to voting tomorrow for the reason that I have many favoties here that I cannot wait to support. I am the type of person who would most likely vote for the underdogs in the matches with a few exceptions if I really like said character. As for figuring out exactly how to write the results of the matches, I am thinking of formatting it as a sports review, something along the lines of (insert name here) defeats (insert name here) and provide a story about each match. Of course, I will try to add background information if the two fighting together have a very strong history that needs to be brought up. Without further ado, here are the matches for tomorrow:

Tachibana Kanade vs. Sakura Kyōko vs. Tōwa Erio vs. Hotogi Shirayuki vs. Reki vs. Inui Sana vs. Takakura Himari – There’s pretty much no denying that Tachibana Kanade is going to win this one. We are talking about a girl here who pretty much dominated the entire regular season with a perfect record of 49-0. However, even with a perfect round, she managed to fall short and fell to the flames of Shana. Even so, ranked third overall is still a very impressive score, and I highly doubt her popularity has gone down just yet. In fact, it may be fueled until she gets the Tiara. I believe the only one out of the group who has a chance of slaying her is Kyouko. PMMM has gotten some decent numbers over the nomination phrase, if anything, with enough support, she may be able to knock her to the ground. If Kyouko cannot do it, my second guess would be Erio. I mean, this girl is a perfect moe blob with that cute smile, exposed shoulder, and sparkling hair/body. Surely anyone would find her moe as long as they disregard that she originally perceives herself as an alien. Even so, the girl whom I am rooting for is Sana. This is a girl who tried everything to keep the main protagonist focused on her. Sure, she screwed up when her colors were exposed, but the overall development of her character is truly remarkable. She will get my support here.

Gokou Ruri ( Kuroneko ) vs. Mikazuki Yozora vs. Tomoe Mami vs. Suzutsuki Kanade Shimada Minami vs. Shinonome Nano vs. Tsugumi – Nothing much to say here as well. I am pretty sure that Ruri is going to win this match without a problem. I doubt either Yozora or Mami can come close as to scratch her, if possible. Coming out 4th from last year puts her very close to the safe zone in coming out of this match victorious. As for who I am going to vote for, it would most likely be Nano. She is one of my favorite characters in Nichijou, so I will definitely be supporting her, even if there is close to no way she an win.

Eucliwood Hellscythe vs. Kaname Madoka vs. Ika-Musume vs. Kasugano Sora vs. Oikawa Tsurara vs. Kunieda Aoi vs. Ayase Chihaya – This may prove to be quite tricky. Overall, I think Eucliwood has a more than a good chance in coming out of this round as the victor. I say this because I am still wary of the strength of the PMMM cast in general. I am close to sure that Madoka can defeat Ika-Musume, but as for Eu, I am leaning towards no. Eu is that really weird wildcard that a few people can understand. Is her quietness the reason for her charms? Whatever it is, it is working and may continue to work for this year. Next year and the year after would probably have to wait. As for who I am voting for, it will be Ika-Musume. This squid needs some more love after being unable to make it to the prelims last year by a shy few votes. Most likely, her popularity as dwindled or may not have been that popular from the start, but I would like to see her make it Regular season this time around.

Yui vs. Fear Kubrick vs. Shionji Yūko (Alice) vs. Himeji Mizuki vs. Yune vs. Tsurugi Minko vs. Inami Mahiru – Truth be told, I do not think Angel Beats! is going to slow down just yet. More than likely, the winner of this match is going to be Yui. Fear is the only girl out of this bunch who can come close as to tie her down. It just so happens that Fear has a high number of torture tools in her compartment not itching for some blood. Will her fighting skills be enough to take down a highly energetic girl who wishes to use to most of her energy as much as possible is the question. As for whom I am voting for, it easily has to be Yune. Come on, you cannot tell me that you cannot help but to hug this girl whenever you see her walking in the streets. Yune is just so adorable; I want to take her home so baldy. I need to stop acting like Rena one of these days.

Nakamura Yuri vs. Honma Meiko vs. Konoe Subaru vs. Ayuzawa Misaki vs. Shinomiya Ayase vs. Takahara Ayumi vs. Morishima Haruka – Not the best group in terms of variety; I believe half of these girls are tsunderes. Of course, that does not matter since Yuri will win this one mostly without question. Honma can try, and may get close to her, but, overall, I do not see that happening. Yuri is quite versatile in terms of weapon fighting, but Menma is a spirit, so I do not see how those are going to work. Subaru and Misaki have good hand-to-hand combat skills so maybe those will be handy. My vote goes to Misaki. I just love it when she blushes whenever she gets embarrassed and does her best for her friends.

Charlotte Dunois vs. Gasai Yuno vs. Matsumae Ohana vs. Taneshima Poplar vs. Shinonono Hōki vs. Kisaragi Chihaya vs. Wendy Marvell – Charlotte is completely a dark horse to boot. In close matches, she will win matches that people think she will lose at and lose to everyone else. It is as if she is trolling us as to which matches she personally chooses to win rather than via vote count. More likely that not, she will defeat Yuno, which slightly surprised me at first. I have not watched Mirai Nikki, so I do not know her personality well other than her yandere personality. I think even with Mirai Nikki still continuing, I think Charlotte would win. Who I will vote for will be Ohana. Ohana is the type of girl that is able to change people’s lives for the better, whether one realizes it or not. Perhaps it is through her personality that allows me to take heart in the type of person she is.

Akiyama Mio vs. Sakagami Tomoyo vs. Nymph vs. Konjiki no Yami vs. Kawashima Ami vs. Kuchiki Rukia vs. Tsukimiya Ayu – Mio clearly has this one in the bag. While her popularity may be fading, I doubt that she will lose to Tomoyo. Clannad has taken quite a fall since the inception of ISML. Last year, there were no Clannad representative in the top 16, who were Post-Season each year. Tomoyo’s strength is fading, and not for good reason. Then again, she will most likely be second, since I doubt she would lose to the likes of Nymph and Yami. My vote goes to Ayu, and this is a obligatory Kanon vote. I just want to see the Kanon girls do well here, though that would not be likely to happen.

Suzumiya Haruhi vs. Furukawa Nagisa vs. Lucy Heartfilia vs. Furude Rika vs. Ryōgi Shiki vs. Uiharu Kazari vs. Evangeline A.K. McDowell – This is pretty straight forward as well; Haruhi is going to win this bout whether the voters like it or not. Haruhi’s unorthodox leadership has granted her the ability to go full steam ahead, but is it time for a revolution? In last year’s post season, the SOS Brigade team did not do as well as most people thought they would. Are they starting to slow down as well? Then again, Nagisa has not been able to defeat Haruhi before, that this is more or less not likely to change. I will be supporting Shiki here. With her personality, it is almost as if she is begging for someone to talk to her, and thus, I was enamored by her mysterious charm.

Senjougahara Hitagi vs. C.C. vs. Ikaros vs, Ibuki Fūko vs. Shinku vs. Yin vs. Kōzuki Kallen – I think this is the most violent match up we are going to see here. Hitagi uses school supplies as weapons, C.C. and Kallen have mechas, Ikaros has her Uranus Queen mode, Shinku has magical powers with rose pedals and a cane. Yin is a doll, so she is alreayd pretty dangerous in her own way. Fuuko…we have seen her used those carved starfish as a weapon before. Despite all of this, Hitagi is going to win here. End of sentence. It does not help that Nisemonogatari is airing, and since she is more or less likely going to appear every few episodes or so, that is more than enough of a boost to move onto the next round. I am voting for Yin here.

Sengoku Nadeko vs. Tōsaka Rin vs. Ichinose Kotomi vs. Takamachi Nanoha vs. Chrome Dokuro vs. Hanato Kobato vs. Saginomiya Isumi – This may prove quite interesting at first, but Nadeko is going to win this one. Once again, Nisemonogatari plays a helpful role here in getting her some of her fans back to loving her again once more. Rin has Fate/Zero, but appeared quite rarely, and the last time we see her is when she saves her friends from being killed by a child serial killer. I think even then, Rin does not have enough power to take Nadeko down, which is ironic since she is a sorcerer and Nadeko is just a cute school girl. My vote goes to Ichinose Kotomi. She is quite an interesting person to have as a friend.

Saber vs. Sanzen’in Nagi vs. Last Order vs. Hirasawa Ui vs. Enma Ai vs. Kawasumi Mai vs. Chii – I believe Saber will win this one without much of a problem. The main question to think of here is the strength of Nagi. Nagi has the Kugimiya fanbase backing her up, so she is already a dangerous competitor from the start, not to mention she has a butler who can pretty much do just about anything. Then again, Saber holds Excalibur and Avalon and has high overall stats, so she should be fine here. I am voting for Mai for she is one of my favorite characters of all time. She needs a massive amount of love here, even though she will most likely lose.

Hirasawa Yui vs. Louise Vallière vs. Kagura vs. Asahina Mikuru vs. Sōryū Asuka Langley vs. Ayanami Rei vs. Isayama Yomi – Now, things get a bit off here. Sure, there is no question that K-On! is still going out strong to this day, but what about the new season of Zero no Tsukaima? I think, even then, Yui will win this one. I do not think that Louise will win even with a fourth season. I mean, there had their changes with multiple seasons in the past. I’m sure by the fourth one, the same about of people that stayed on the ship for three seasons will side with her. In comparison, more likely, it will not be enough. As for who I will vote for, it will be Rei. She is the main reason why I find silent girls cute.

Leave a comment