Mother’s Day and Japan Day

Today is Mother’s day, where we are to thank our mothers, grandmothers, wives, etc. for nearly everything that they have done for us. Using Wikipedia, Mother’s day came into tradition over 100 years ago by a lady in the United States named Anna Jarvis, who coined this term after the death of her mother.

As for what I did at Mother’s Day, as the title suggested, it has something to do with Japan. There is a day known as Japan Day here in New York City where we thank Japan back for the strong friendship that they had for the past 100 years, this being the 100th anniversary of such an agreement. After volunteering there for two years, I decided that to try an volunteer for this again. I missed volunteering and the actual date last year due to poor research and information. I should have, considering that that was the day that Japan was struck by a rather large earthquake followed by a tsunami. I am sure there would have been a lot of people back then willing to help out be it someone who does know about Japan or a stranger walking down the street who appends to see this as s/he passes by.

Again, I came here thinking that I might get to experience more about Japanese culture. Indeed, it was provided given its food, activity tents, and performances. Maybe I am just very slow, but I felt that it was New York City’s own Japanese Culture Festival with the things provided. Then again, if I wanted to know about the history of Japan or the like, I can just take a history course in college or something similar to that. Once again, I did see a few cosplayers walking about, but thankfully, it was much fewer than what I had seen in Sakura Matsuri. While I should be equally angry that they were spotted, I am glad enough that there were a few in comparison to the majority. I did manage to find and old high school friend as I was randomly walking around after my shift. That was interesting, as we were able to interact and make up for lost time as we talking to each other about college and the like. Overall, the atmosphere did feel quite lively, but I guess that was because people were coming over with their mothers so that they can experience Japan with them.

Now, that does not mean that I did nothing for Mother’s Day. Usually, at Mother’s Day, my family and I, as well as my uncle and aunt, would go to a restaurant with, of course, my grandmother as the main star. I love her with all of my heart. She has done literally everything for me, from cooking and cleaning (which I will help out with) to staying with me during the main turning point of my life and loss of innocence. I can care less about my mother. I despise her with a passion. While she has done everything for me as well, I cannot forgive her or my father for shattering my idealistic mindset of what a family should be like at the time. It has been five years since that time and, to this day, I still resent them for that one incident. I will still call them my mother and father, but, in my eyes, they are both non-existent. I should be grateful that I even have both still and that they are alive, but there are just some things that I cannot accept about them for what they did. Some can brush it off, I can sadly remember it as if it were yesterday.

Leave a Reply

